Rick Springfield – Rocket Science 2016 album review. 4.5 star rating.


Rick Springfield

‘Rocket Science’

Rick Springfield – The Best Damn Thing video, audio only.

2016 release from Frontiers Records.

Rick Springfield – Vocals, guitar. George Nastos – Guitar. George Bernhardt – Guitar. Tim Pierce – Guitar. Matt Bissonette – Bass, backing vocals. Jorge Palacios – Drums. John Jorgenson – Pedal steel. George Doering – Banjo, mandolin, guitar. Jim Cox – Keyboards.  Craig Eastman – Violin.

Artist location: Australia.

4.5 out of 5 star rating.

Reviewed by David.

  1. Light This Party Up.
  2. Down.
  3. That One.
  4. The Best Damn Thing.
  5. Miss Mayhem.
  6. Pay It Forward.
  7. Found.
  8. Crowded Solitude.
  9. Let Me In.
  10. All Hands On Deck.
  11. We Connect.
  12. (I Wish I Had A) Concrete Heart.
  13. Earth To Angel.
  14. Beautiful Inside (Bonus Track).
  15. Mercy (Bonus Track).
  16. Walkin’ In (Bonus Track).


Australian artist Rick Springfield is a name familiar to most everyone by this time. He has been performing and releasing music since the 1960’s with many big hits over the years and several excellent records. His newest one, ‘Rocket Science’, studio album number 20, stands among his best.

I have heard many people call this a country record. That is not an apt description in my opinion. Sure, there are some country elements and influences, but really this album is just another extension of Springfield’s music that we all already know. The same style that has pervaded his records all these years with the pop/rock sound, just this time around with some instruments such as the mandolin, banjo and pedal steel that are most widely associated with country music, hence giving many the illusion that it is a country album. 

Springfield has really outdone himself here. Easily his best record in years, in my opinion, containing some of his best and catchiest tunes in years that rank up there with the best of his music. It is amazing that after so many years of songwriting that the man still has any songs left in him to write, much less some of the strongest ones he has written in years. And I am by no means talking bad about his last few releases as each one has been strong and produced some truly great songs.

The regular album contains 13 tracks. There is a bonus track available through iTunes called ‘Beautiful Inside’. There are two bonus tracks included on the Best Buy version, ‘Mercy’ and ‘Walkin’ In’.

‘The Best Damn Thing‘ is my personal favorite from the album and it is Springfield all the way. A great tune with a killer chorus and great vocals (check out the link at the top of the page to hear it). This song along with other fantastic tracks like ‘Down’, ‘Crowded Solitude’ and ‘All Hands On Deck’ make this an album not to be missed.

I won’t make this a long review because at this point we all pretty much know  Rick’s style and music and what to expect from him. This is more of what we have heard from him before, just with a bit of a twist and a bit stronger than his last few releases. Strong melodies, fantastic vocals, excellent production and some big hooks are prevalent throughout the entire record.

Two songs that I personally was not very crazy about are the only thing that mar what is an almost perfect record of incredibly catchy songs that will have you singing along in no time. Highly recommended.


Standout Tracks:

Light This Party Up.


That One.

The Best Damn Thing.

Crowded Solitude.

All Hands On Deck.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s