Violet Janine – Between Red And Blue. 4.5 star rating.

Violet-Janine-Between-Red-and-Blue-2016

Violet Janine

‘Between Red And Blue’

Violet Janine – Down On My Knees (Feat. Pontus Snibb) music video.

2016 release from Lionspride Music.

Janine Nyman – Vocals. Daniel Palmqvist – Guitar. Tony Jonsson- Guitar. Basse Blyberg – Bass.  Ian Brunnberg – Drums.

Artist location: Sweden.

4.5 out of 5 stars rating.

Reviewed by David.

  1. Heat Of The Highway.
  2. Devil In Me.
  3. Tell Me.
  4. Everyday’s A Fight.
  5. Shut Up.
  6. So Much More (Feat. Tony Martin).
  7. Better This Than Nothing.
  8. Story Of Your Life.
  9. Down On My Knees (Feat. Pontus Snibb).

 

This is a release that I have been looking forward to for quite some time, ever since I first heard the excellent track ‘Down On My Knees’ with Bonafide frontman Pontus Snibb and hearing the voice behind frontwoman Janine Nyman.

The majority of the album is actually more low key then I was expecting after hearing the heavier, ‘Down On My Knees’,  but it is still a rock album featuring some great songs, great musicianship and some excellent vocals from the lovely Janine.

The record starts out with a great tune, ‘Heat Of The Highway’, that gets the album started off on the right foot and then moves directly into a rocker, ‘Devil In Me’, that is one of the high points of the record for me personally.

‘Tell Me’ is a great little mid-tempo track that leads into track four and another mid-tempo one, ‘Everyday’s A Fight’, both are excellent songs and help to showcase the vocals of Nyman.

‘Shut Up’ is another rocker that delivers in spades and leads us into ‘So Much More’, a slower duet featuring, and written by, the great Tony Martin (ex-Black Sabbath).

The next song, ‘Better This Than Nothing’,  is a bit more on the pop side of things rather than the rock and is a great track that brings is to ‘Story Of Your Life’, which is another mid-tempo track and another excellent turn by both Nyman and the band.

The last song is superb. Featuring the excellent vocals of Bonafide frontman Pontus Snibb and a video appearance by the one and only Jon Levén of the phenomenal band Europe. The song is a hard and catchy rock number with two outstanding vocalists whose voices blend perfectly together.

My solitary complaint with the album is the length. At just nine tracks it comes across as a bit too short to me. However, it is a fantastic record and has introduced me to a superb new singer in Janine Nyman and a group of talented musicians that obviously are capable of writing some great material.

All in all this is an excellent release. Not necessarily a very heavy album, but a great rock record all the same. I would certainly recommend this album without hesitation. The band sounds fantastic and Nyman has an excellent voice that compliments the bands music very well. Give this one a try, I do not think you will be disappointed.

I hope we hear more from this band in the future and this record is just the start of things to come.

 

 

Standout Tracks:

 

‘Heat On The Highway’.

‘Devil In Me’.

‘Tell Me’.

‘Shut Up’.

‘Story Of Your Life’.

‘Down On My Knees’.

2 thoughts on “Violet Janine – Between Red And Blue. 4.5 star rating.

  1. Wow, what a great song! I love the sound. I am going to search for this album right now. Thank you for introducing me to yet another band! Keep it up, I am always looking for new music and this is the sixth band I have learned from your site.
    Rock on brother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keith,

      Thank you so much for writing!

      That is awesome man! I am so happy that you have been able to find some new bands through my site. That is the prime reason I do what I do here so it is very nice to hear that I am doing some good and helping, not only get people like yourself introduced to new artists and great music for their sake, but also helping to get these superb artists and ther music out to a broader audience.

      Thanks for writing and for the encouragement of letting me know that my site is doing some good.

      David.

      Like

Leave a Reply

