Cruzh – Self Titled 2016 album review. 5 star rating.



‘Self Titled’

2016 release from Frontiers Music s.r.l.

Cruzh – Aim For The Head music video.

Tony Andersson – Vocals, keyboards. Dennis Butabi Borg – Bass. Anton Joensson – Lead guitars, rhtyhm guitars, acoustic guitars, backing vocals.

Guest musicians:

Louisian Boltner – Drums. Erik Wiss – Piano (track 4, intro to track 1). Mattias Silfver – Backing vocals. Martin Johansson – Backing vocals (track 4). Patrik Noran – Backing vocals (track 3).

Artist location: Sweden.

5 stars out of 5 stars rating.

Reviewed by David.

  1. In N’ Out Of Love.
  2. First Cruzh.
  3. Aim For The Head.
  4. Anything For You.
  5. Survive.
  6. Stay.
  7. Hard To Get.
  8. You.
  9. Set Me Free.
  10. Before I Walk Alone.
  11. Straight From My Heart.

As the newest sensation making waves out of Sweden, this three man outfit came out of the gate hitting on all cylinders and delivered one of the best Scandi-rock records of the year, hands down.

With one EP already under their belts, 2013’s three track ‘Hard To Get’, the band was signed to Frontiers in 2015 and the result was this outstanding record in the vein of bands such as Reckless Love.

The band themselves are some talented guys. Anton Joensson is an excellent guitar player as he proves here on every track, covering every guitar on the record. Dennis Butabi Borg is great as he keeps the bass line thundering along with both of the musicians complementing frontman Tony Andersson’s fantastic vocals who sounds incredible on each song.

All of the guest musicians are great here as well, from the driving beats of session drummer Louisian Boltner to the piano of producer Erik Wiss to the backing vocals of Mattias SilfverMartin Johansson and Patrik Noran, the guests contribute to making this album a winner.

The music is outstanding throughout the entire album. From the catchy ‘Aim For The Head’ (click on the link near the top of the page to see the music video, if you like it you will love the entire album), ‘Survive’ and ‘Hard To Get’ to the more mid-tempo songs like ‘Stay’ to the ballads like ‘Straight From My Heart’, this album does not disappoint as each track never fails to deliver some superb music.

This is the kind of record that keeps me excited about music. A young new band comes out, breathing new life into the genre, taking their place alongside the musical giants that have come before them and helping to keep this music alive. Not to discredit any of the older bands and artists or to say that their new music excites me any less, quite the opposite actually, but without new bands coming along then the genre would be destined to eventually die out so it is imperative that we have new bands such as this coming along, influenced by the older generation of bands and artists that have made this genre what it is today, and these guys do it right, and they flat out rock.

An absolute gem of an album with not a single bad track to be found. This is sure to please fans of bands such as the aforementioned Reckless Love and more modern Bai Bang. Scandi-rock at it’s best, it is definitely one you do not want to miss out on if you are fans of the genre.

Very highly recommended.

Standout Tracks:

‘In N’ Out Of Love’.

‘Aim For The Head’.


‘Hard To Get’.


‘Set Me Free’.

‘Straight From My Heart’. 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s