Unruly Child – Can’t Go Home 2017 album review. 3.5 star rating.

unruly_child_-_can_t_go_home

Unruly Child

‘Can’t Go Home’

2017 release from Frontiers Records srl.

Unruly Child – ‘The Only One’ audio video.

Unruly Child – ‘Point Of View’ audio video.

Marcie Free – Vocals. Bruce Gowdy – Guitar. Larry Antonino – Bass. Guy Allison – Keyboards. Jay Schellen – Drums.

Artist location: USA.

3.5 out of 5 stars rating.

Reviewed by David.

  1. The Only One.
  2. Four Eleven.
  3. Driving Into The Future.
  4. Get On Top.
  5. See If She Floats.
  6. She Can’t Go Home.
  7. Point Of View.
  8. Ice Cold Sunshine.
  9. When Love Is Here.
  10. Sunlit Sky.
  11. Someday Somehow.

 

 

Unruly Child is back with the long awaited follow-up to 2010’s ‘Worlds Collide‘, returning with ‘Can’t Go Home‘, a long seven years after that last album released.

I am not sure why it has taken so long for them to return, but thankfully Free and company are back and, while not the best album of their career, it is still a very good effort from the band and sees some great songs coming to us in this mix.

I’ll be honest, this is a tough one to review because I am a big fan of this band and, while I do really like this record, it is just so hard not to compare it to their earlier releases, which are on a whole different level from this, to be quite frank. But with that being said, I will review and judge this based on it’s merits alone and not compared to the band’s incredible back catalogue.

So first things first, don’t let the lower rating fool you into thinking it is a bad album, or even a sub-par record, because it is not at all, but if I can’t be honest in my ratings and thoughts on the albums then what is the point. You see a lot of 4-5 star ratings from me here so it makes it seem more that a 3.5 is a sub-par rating when in fact it is still a very good one, it just means that I was not completely blown away by the album, not that it is a bad album.

So onward to the music.

The Only One‘ is a great upbeat opener for the album with a terrific delivery from Marcie.

Four Eleven‘ is another upbeat track that dips down a bit in strength for me but it leads into ‘Driving Into The Future‘ which gets us right back on track.

Track four brings us to my one of my favorite songs of the record with ‘Get On Top‘, a rocking number with a fantastic chorus and an excellent performance from Free.

See If She Floats‘ is a rather pop rock sounding track that takes us into ‘She Can’t Go Home‘, a more mid-tempo track that is a standout for me. Great delivery from Marcie and a great chorus. Lovely song.

Point Of View‘ is one of the tracks that was released early and it is my favorite song of the album. Love the chorus on this upbeat number.

Ice Cold Sunshine‘ is another of my favorites. One of the catchiest tracks of the album, this upbeat song is definitely one of the high points for me. Unfortunately it leads into my two least favorite tracks of the album, the pop rocker ‘When Love Is Here‘ and another pop rock oriented song, ‘Sunlit Sky‘.

Someday Somehow‘ thankfully picks the pace back up with another terrific rocker and another great vocal performance and it ends the record a great note for us.

One thing that instantly struck me with this album is how great Marcie still sounds. Sure, some of the range is no longer there but otherwise she still sounds fantastic.

Another thing is this is not even close to being as rocking as the first few albums from the band and in fact leans a bit more towards the pop rock element. Not necessarily a bad thing, just a head’s up on what to expect.

Again, don’t let my rating dissuade you, and it may seem as if I was disappointed in the record due to my rating but quite the opposite actually as I was pleasantly surprised with it and in fact I enjoy it far more than I did the ‘Worlds Collide‘ album.

I am a big fan of Free’s body of work. With such classics like Signal’sLoud And Clear‘ album, the fantastic solo album ‘Long Way From Love‘ (under the name Mark Free) and the excellent self-titled Unruly Child album to her name, she has indeed proven herself over and over to the melodic rock world and, while I don’t think anyone will argue that this is the best album the band has put out by any stretch of the imagination, it is still a great effort from these guys and should satisfy any fan of the band through the years.

Recommended.

 

 

Standout Tracks:

 

‘The Only One’. 

‘Get On Top’. 

‘She Can’t Go Home’.

Point Of View’.

‘Ice Cold Sunshine’.

Leave a Reply

